Tuppence vs YNAB
YNAB is a method as much as an app: you give every dollar a job before you spend it, usually with your accounts linked, and you can share the plan with up to six people. Tuppence is a fast manual log with budgets that show what's left. Here's where each one is stronger.
Data checked on October 20, 2026
Log a spend in three seconds and always see what's left: Tuppence — free, no account, no bank connection.
Side by side
| Tuppence | YNAB | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free; Tuppence+ $2.99 a week (3-day free trial) or $17.99 a year (7-day free trial) | 30-day free trial, then $14.99 a month or $109 a year |
| Free version | Free forever: log, edit and delete spending, categories and templates, a searchable ledger, the monthly summary and one overall budget | No free version after the trial |
| Bank linking | No, by design: you log spending yourself, no bank credentials | Yes, linked accounts import transactions; manual entry is possible too |
| Budgeting | One overall budget free; category and period budgets (day, week, month, year) with Tuppence+, with what's left as a big number | A full spending plan with categories, goals and “Cost to Be Me” |
| Debt | Not covered | Loan Planner with time and interest saved |
| Sharing | No: built for one person | Unlimited plans shared with up to six people on one subscription |
| Recurring expenses | Weekly, monthly or yearly, with the total committed per month (Tuppence+); when you import a CSV it suggests which charges repeat | Not stated in the listing |
| Account | No account to create | Not stated in the listing |
| Where it runs | iPhone, iPad and Mac with Apple silicon (no Android or web) | iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch on the App Store listing |
| Siri | Home Screen widgets (Tuppence+), Siri and Shortcuts, Face ID lock | Ask Siri to update your plan or read category balances |
| Languages | English, Italian, Spanish, French and German | English |
Highlighted: the stronger app on that point, where the difference is clear.
Which one to choose
Choose Tuppence if
- You don't want to give an app access to your bank account
- You want a free version that keeps working after the first month
- Logging a spend by hand in a few seconds is enough for you
- You keep your budget alone, on iPhone
Choose YNAB if
- You want to plan every dollar ahead with a proven method
- You budget with a partner or family (up to six people)
- You want transactions to arrive from your bank
- You're paying down debt and want the Loan Planner
Frequently asked questions
How much does YNAB cost?
According to the US App Store listing, YNAB has a 30-day free trial, then $14.99 a month or $109 a year, with no free version after the trial. Tuppence is free for logging spending and one overall budget; Tuppence+ is $2.99 a week or $17.99 a year.
Is there a YNAB alternative that doesn't link to my bank?
YNAB lets you add transactions manually, but it's built around linked accounts and a subscription. Tuppence never connects to a bank: you log spending yourself and the data stays on your device and in your own iCloud.
Can I share a budget with my partner?
With YNAB, yes: one subscription covers up to six people. Tuppence is built for one person; it syncs between your own devices, not with other people's.
Can I move my data from YNAB to Tuppence?
Tuppence imports CSV files from other apps and maps the columns; if the file contains charges that repeat, it suggests marking them as recurring. Exporting from YNAB is done from YNAB itself.
Read next
Prices, features and ratings come from each app's US App Store listing on October 20, 2026 and may change; Tuppence's come from the app itself. Listings: Tuppence, YNAB.
YNAB and You Need A Budget are trademarks of their respective owners. Tuppence is an independent project with no affiliation, sponsorship or endorsement from them. This page compares apps; it is not financial advice.